I Love Betty. (Puffy Omelet)

Betty Crocker and I have had a long-standing relationship.  Ever since I was old enough to read a recipe, Betty was the one I turned to most often.  Even though I now need to adapt most of her recipes to fit my traditional nutrition framework, I still use her frequently.  Published in 1956, Betty Crocker’s Picture Cook Book quickly became the new standard in many American households, representing good old-fashioned home-cooking but with many of the new innovations of the “modern” kitchen (cream of mushroom soup, pimiento cheese, brown & serve rolls…).  I usually ignore the inclusion of these items, preferring to make everything from scratch that I can, but if I need a recipe for an old standby like biscuits or custard, I get the Betty out.

Puffy Omelet (listed on this week’s menu as “Fluffy Cheese Omelet.”  I’ve adapted Betty’s version to serve my family’s needs.)

  • 6 eggs, separated
  • Heaping 1/4 tsp. Cream of Tartar
  • Sea salt & pepper, to taste
  • 1/3 c. whole milk
  • 1 Tbls. or so of fat (I used beef tallow–YUMMY!)
  • Handful of cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350.  Beat the egg whites with Cream of Tartar until thick.  In separate bowl, beat yolks till thick and lemon colored, then beat in milk, salt and pepper.  Fold yolk mixture into whites.

Meanwhile, get your iron skillet good and hot.  Add the fat and when it’s sizzling, pour in the egg mixture.  Cook over low heat about 10 minutes or until bottom is light brown.  The top will still look pretty much raw.

Put the skillet in the oven and bake till light brown on top and no imprint remains when you touch it with your finger.

Just out of the oven

Remove from oven and sprinkle with some cheese.  Betty says to make a “1/2″ deep crease” across the top; I think it works better to go almost all the way down with a knife or spatula.  You’re really just making it easier to fold it in half.  Using a spatula (or 2!), fold the omelet in half and transfer to your platter (or cut in wedges first and transfer to your plates).  Give another sprinkle of cheese if you want.  Cheese is a good thing.

Ready to serve!

The bottom is a pic of our breakfast.  The little dark pile on the left is lacto-fermented turnips, beets & seaweed.

Yummy breakfast, thanks to Betty

One response to “I Love Betty. (Puffy Omelet)

  1. I have always used my Betty Crocker cookbook ever since I got it as a wedding gift 48 years ago. It is literally falling apart, with so much usage, so I am putting each page in a plastic cover sheet and putting the whole thing in a notebook binder (as a suggestion given by Lori). I love Betty too!

Leave a Reply

