Not yo mama’s biscuits. (Soaked whole wheat biscuits)

I’ve been wanting to try a soaked biscuit for awhile now, but didn’t find a recipe that particularly excited me…until I read Meg Dickey’s Cracking an Egg with One Hand blog recently.  Her Soaked Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits recipe was what I was looking for.  I didn’t have buttermilk so I used kefir. And then I didn’t have enough kefir, so I added the remainder of milk and a little whey.  They still turned out wonderful, slightly reminiscent of sourdough, and “light yet fluffy,” as hubby says.   They did not rise high.  They sort of spread out instead of rising up, but that was really okay.  Definitely different from my mom’s sky-high perfections (from Betty Crocker’s recipe). Different yet very yummy.

Why soak?  When you soak grains in a slightly acidic medium, it neutralizes the phytates which are considered anti-nutrients.  If you’re new to this lingo, stop spinning your head; it just means that the biscuits are much more nutrient-dense than if they hadn’t been soaked first.  Your body can actually use the nutrients in the grain.

Here’s my version of the recipe:

Soaked Whole Wheat Biscuits

First step:

  • 2 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour (I used freshly ground white whole wheat)
  • 1 stick (1/2 c.) butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 c. kefir (since I didn’t have enough, I added maybe 2 Tbls. whey and then filled the cup with milk)

Cut the butter into the flour.  I used my food processor for this which made it really easy.  Then add the kefir and stir until the flour is incorporated.  Cover and let sit on counter overnight.

Second step:

Preheat oven to 375 and add the following to the mixture:

  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

I mixed this in my KitchenAid just until I thought it was incorporated.  Then dip your fingers in flour and lightly form 2″ balls.  Put them on a greased cookie sheet and slightly flatten them out (to look more “biscuity”).  Bake for 15-20 minutes.

Soaked Whole Wheat Biscuits

If you happen to be following my menu plan, you’ll notice this breakfast is different from the menu. What can I say?  Life happens.  We had the biscuits with roast beef gravy and basted eggs. And leftover orange- banana-cranberry- pomegranite smoothie from yesterday.

7 responses to “Not yo mama’s biscuits. (Soaked whole wheat biscuits)

  1. That can’t be Lori’s stove – there are no food smears caked on it.

  2. Hi! I can’t wait to try your biscuits – they look fabulous! Do you think you could use a biscuit cutter or would that not turn out? Also – can you post the recipe for the banana/cranberry smoothie? Thanks so much!

    • Melissa,
      I think next time I might try rolling them out and using a biscuit cutter. The dough felt very different than normal dough, so I wasn’t sure how it would work.

      As for the smoothie, I don’t use a recipe but I just use whatever I have, part frozen fruit and part unfrozen. This time, I used several peeled oranges and several handfuls out of my frozen fruit bag-maybe one banana and 3/4 cup(?) of cranberries/pomegranite seeds. Put it in my VitaMix, add some kefir and whiz it up. I think I added a little honey because it wasn’t quite sweet enough.

  3. Hey Lori –
    I’m glad you tried the biscuits! I have done them rolled/cut out, and you end up needing a bit more flour to roll them. I usually have many little fingers in the bowl :), and have found it easier to roll them in balls rather than cutting out. But they are good either way! 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment Meg! Was I correct in linking to your blog (and using your recipe) without your prior permission?

      • No worries – the linked page shows up on my Dashboard, so that’s how I found you. I’m just glad someone else tried and enjoyed them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

