Tedious? Not at all. (Herb Spelt Crackers)

I’ve made crackers.  A lot of them.  When we first got Little Boy, I made teething crackers.  I’ve made cheese crackers, animal crackers, graham crackers and others.  They all were OKAY.  Some were better than others, but most were not anything to write home about. Making them was just short of tedious, and then if they weren’t super yummy, it seemed like sort of a waste of time and effort.  I’d say the graham crackers were an exception because they were really good though still a lot of work.  Or maybe I just didn’t have my mojo working, I don’t know.

Enter yesterday’s cracker.  I used Kimi Harris’ recipe for Rosemary Spelt Cracker on Nourishing Gourmet’s blog.  I started out the day before and ground my spelt, mixed it with water, whey and coconut oil.  I used quite a bit extra flour than the recipe said in order to make the dough into a “not too sticky not too dry” ball.  Covered it and let it sit for about 24 hours.  When you’re soaking grains, it doesn’t really take that long to neutralize the anti-nutrients (I think it’s about 7 hours for wheat), but longer doesn’t hurt I don’t think (don’t quote me on this). So 24 hours later is when I got back to the dough.

I added the remaining ingredients, rolled them out, baked them, and all of a sudden I was done!  I had a mountain of crackers ready to eat in about 30 minutes or so of labor!  Not bad.  And the crackers are very good.

Herb Spelt Crackers

I used Kimi’s recipe, but as usual, changed a few things.  I increased the whey and decreased the water by 2 Tbls.  I used Herbes de Provence instead of rosemary.  I ground the herbs in my little spice grinder, along with some flaxseed. When I make them again, I will up the herb amount to a heaping tablespoonful.  Or I might try them with a little sucanat and cayenne pepper for a sweet/hot effect.  Here is my version:

  • 3 1/2 c. spelt flour (I’m sure that soft whole wheat would be fine)
  • 1/4 c. melted coconut oil
  • 1 c. minus 2 Tbls. water
  • 1/4 c. whey
  • 1 tsp. sea salt (plus more for the top)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 heaping tsp. dried Herbes de Provence
  • 2-3 Tbls. flaxseed

The night before:

Mix together in bowl the flour, oil, water and whey.  I used a spoon and then my hands to bring it all together in a ball and kneaded briefly.  If it seems too wet, use more flour, and likewise more water if too dry.  You just want a ball of dough, with all the flour mixed with the liquid so that the whey can do its thing.  Cover and let sit on counter overnight.

Next day:

Preheat oven to 425.

My dough ball was still a little soft so I used liberal flour throughout this next process.  Plop the ball on the counter and flatten it out a bit.  Sprinkle with the salt, soda, herb and flax.  Fold in half and press down, repeatedly, until all ingredients are fully incorporated.

Divide the dough into 4 parts to make rolling easier.  Sprinkle the counter with more flour and roll the dough as thin as possible for a thin, crisp cracker. Some of mine were thinner than others, but I didn’t sweat it. I used a pizza cutter to cut into approx. 2″ squares.  I don’t worry about the misshapen ones–they all go onto the cookie sheet together.  I didn’t even bother to separate all of them, because they break apart easily after baking.

Place on greased cookie sheet (I forgot to grease mine and it was fine) and prick with fork (forgot to do this altogether!).  Sprinkle with salt (optional) and bake for maybe 10 minutes or until you see some browning on edges. If you’re like me, you’ll need to use a timer.  It’s very frustrating to see your hard work wasted in the trash (don’t ask me how I know).

Herb spelt crackers, liver pate, carrot & celery sticks.  It’s hard to make liver look pretty in a pic!  Oh well, lunch was good anyway.

6 responses to “Tedious? Not at all. (Herb Spelt Crackers)

  1. Thoroughly enjoy your sense of humor as you write. I was a bit disappointed, however, that you didn’t put a sprig of parsley on top of the liver. It might have helped it to look appetizinger.

  2. You had to throw in that liver didn’t you? The crackers look ugly next to the liver doncha think???

  3. Your lunches with your little one looks like the lunches I have with my little one! I make sourdough crackers and Kimi’s liver pate. It is so good. Like you, I have discovered that liver is not very photogenic 🙂

    • I’m sure you know that these things are sometimes hit or miss with toddlers. He ate the pate that day, then the next day, I stuck a bite of it in his mouth and right back out it came. BTW, I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

