Happy Birthday to Me. (Applesauce Cake & Eggnog)

Applesauce Cake and Eggnog

Ach! I wrote a whole post for this and then accidentally deleted it; meanwhile the powers that be auto-saved the deleted post before I had a chance to re-paste it!  Here’s the re-creation.

My birthday this year was celebrated over the course of four days, with tostadas and cream puffs at my brother’s house on Friday, and then going out to dinner with Hubby & Little Boy on Monday.  (My actual birthday was on Tuesday, but I had to work that afternoon.)  However, since Applesauce Cake was on the menu for that day, I took the “opportunity” (try to never pass one up!) to have another little celebration of my own!  I used Meg Dickey’s recipe for Soaked Applesauce Cake on Cracking an Egg With One Hand blog.  Of course I can never let well enough alone, so I added an egg to the recipe even though it called for none.  It turned out moist, light and delicious!  I will definitely make this again.

Soaked Applesauce Cake (my version)

Night before:

  • 1 c. soft wheat flour (or whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1 c. unsweetened applesauce (mine was chunky)
  • 1 Tbls. whey

Mix together well in a bowl, cover and let sit overnight on the counter.

Next day:

Preheat oven to 350.  Mix well into the flour mixture:

  • 1/2 c. melted butter or coconut oil (I used a combination of both)
  • 1/2 c. sucanat
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 c. raisins or nuts (I did not use either of them)

Pour batter into a greased 8×8 pan.  Bake for about 40-50 minutes till center is set.

I enjoyed a slice of the cake with a cup of homemade warm eggnog:

Eggnog

  • Whole milk
  • 1/2 & 1/2
  • Egg yolks
  • Sea salt
  • Pure maple syrup
  • Fresh ground nutmeg

For every mug of eggnog, use half a mug each of milk and 1/2 & 1/2, one egg yolk, a pinch of sea salt and maple syrup to taste (I like mine just barely sweet).  Whisk in a saucepan over medium heat till heated, just starting to thicken, but not boiling.  Sprinkle with nutmeg.  This is wonderful warm but you could chill it for a more classic eggnog.  Happy birthday to me!

4 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me. (Applesauce Cake & Eggnog)

  1. Happy Birthday! (or Birth week 🙂

    The applesauce cake looks tasty!

  2. Happy belated birthday Lori! Your cake and nog look and sound awesome.

Leave a Reply

