Hot Tamale! (Fermented Sriracha-style Hot Sauce)

When I was writing the post on my traditional nutrition journey, I mentioned one of my “holdouts” was Sriracha hot sauce.  Well, I realized that I hadn’t even made an attempt to replace this chemical-laden product!  So, after perusing the net for replacement recipes, I decided to wing it (which is what normally happens for me–I rarely follow a recipe exactly anyway).  I knew that I wanted my sauce to taste similar to the store-bought version, nice and hot, garlicky and slightly sweet. I’m always looking for more opportunities to serve fermented foods to my family, so I knew that this would need to be lacto-fermented as well. This is what I came up with, for round one anyway. If it needs tweaking, I’ll let you know.

What I wanted were Thai chiles, but I couldn’t find them.  In fact there weren’t even any red chiles of any kind in one store I went to!  (Hello, do chiles even grow in January?) However, I went to another store and found red Fresno chiles. I had no idea how hot they were, so I asked one of the produce employees.  He said they were about the same heat as a jalepeño, but when we both took a bite of one it wasn’t hot at all!  I was debating on whether just to buy them anyway, and supplement the heat with some Habaneros (which I did end up doing but didn’t use them), when he bit into another one.  After this bite, he let me know, with expletive-ridden language, that THAT one was HOT!!!  (“Yay for me!” she exclaims, scared AND excited!)

Fermented Sriracha-style Hot Sauce

Please ignore the tomato sauce, vinegar and habanero! I didn't need them after all!

  • 16 Red Fresno chiles
  • 1 Large shallot
  • 4 Garlic cloves
  • 2 Tbls. Sucanat
  • 2 tsp. Sea salt
  • 1 Tbls. Fish sauce
  • 1/4 c. + 1 Tbls. whey, divided

First, put gloves on!  You definitely don’t want this stuff getting into your eyes, or onto your baby’s skin!  Remove stems, seeds and ribs from the chiles. I gave them a good rinse to make sure I had all the seeds off.  Give them a very rough chop (maybe into 2-3 pieces?), then put in food processor with all the remaining ingredients EXCEPT the last tablespoon of whey.  Whiz this for several minutes or until smooth, stopping occasionally to scrape sides. When I make this again, I will probably use my VitaMix to get it even smoother. Taste for seasoning.

Pour into jar, top with remaining whey and seal tightly. Make sure you leave at least an inch of space at the top, or you may have leak issues (which I probably will have, because I didn’t follow my own instruction!)

Let it sit on the counter for 2-3 days, then refrigerate.

If you’re interested in how this turns out, follow the comments.  I’ll report back.  At this point, it tastes pretty close to the “real” thing.  Also, I will probably use maple syrup instead of Sucanat, but I didn’t have any this time.

This post is a part of Fight Back Friday!

8 responses to “Hot Tamale! (Fermented Sriracha-style Hot Sauce)

  1. I am excited to try this! I’m not sure of what sirach is? Is it a sauce like tobasco sauce?

    • Sriracha is a hot sauce that is thicker and maybe not quite as hot as tobasco, but it’s garlicky and slightly sweet. And yummy. I hope you love this recipe!

  2. Thanks for this recipe! I grow many types of chiles and am looking forward to trying this out. I freeze fresh ripe chiles and make hot sauce with them. The freezing process breaks down the cellular structure of the chiles which makes for a more smooth hot sauce. Therefore, hot sauce can be made any time of year, if you have a freezer full of chiles like I do ; ).
    Thanks again!

  3. How spicy is it? We got yeast at Sam’s Club. Do you still have yours? Its gonna last us FOREVER!!

    • Miss Green, it is pretty spicy but Little Boy likes it (at least the Sriracha). Cool about the yeast–that’s where I got mine and it took me exactly 6 months to go through half of it! Make sure your mom seals it up good and keeps it in the fridge.

  4. WOW!!! I’ll have her do that. Dad made cinamon rasin bread! AWESOME!

  5. Sriracha. Say that 5 times fast. We’re having tostadas tonight, wish we had some.

Leave a Reply

