How not to make soup. (Don’t try this at home.)

I finally made something that Hubby didn’t like. And wouldn’t eat. Okay, there was the Thai Green Curry that was too hot, but that’s understandable, right? And lest anyone is critical of someone who is just too picky, I have to say that my Hubby HATES to waste food.  He’ll eat things that are past their prime, just so they don’t go to waste.  I have learned to use up my leftovers long before this happens, because  A) I can’t stand to see him eat something gross; B) I see it as a challenge to use everything up, due to my limited food budget; and C) because he’s drilled it into me that wasting food is…a waste.

So I had this package of lamb kidneys in the freezer, just waiting for me to do something with.  And I really needed to make some bone broth out of a bunch of lamb bones (and a couple beef bones), so I decided to combine my efforts–make the broth, cook the kidney in the broth, remove from broth and cut up, then make a soup from the broth, kidney pieces and some veggies.  Sound good so far, right? (other than the run-on sentence!)

I don’t think I’ve ever tasted kidney, much less lamb kidney, so I took one out and bit into it, for research’s sake (yes, after it was cooked!).  Very liver-y, and with a little center fatty-looking part.  I wasn’t too excited to make liver soup, but I was too committed at that point to change courses, so I trudged ahead (mistake #1) and cut them all in tiny dice.  My thought was that if the broth and veggies were tasty enough, we wouldn’t notice the liver-y kidneys too much.

I put them in a soup pot with a bunch of veggies: onion, celery, carrots, turnips and cabbage.  Added a bunch of the bone broth from the crock pot and set it to cook.  Tasted the soup occasionally (well, just the broth really), and it was okay, sort of blah, but doable.  I added some of my frozen herb butter at the end because it needed a punch of flavor.

Well, to make a long story short, the soup was definitely not a hit.  I served it (mistake #2) with homemade biscuits. Hubby said the soup smelled like a cow barn.  He tried it, pushed it away and ate a biscuit with honey instead.  Tried the soup again a few minutes later and again pushed it aside.  I did manage to eat it but tried not to think of the flavor in my mouth. Instead, I concentrated on the yummy biscuit with lots of butter and honey.

Now, please, no comments on rudeness here!  This is the ONLY time, except for the too hot Thai food, that he’s ever not eaten something I made.  He even eats things he really doesn’t like too much, like fruit on green salads. (He faithfully ate them for several years before telling me I had traumatized him with strawberries in the salad!)

Oh, and by the way, Little Boy LOVED the soup.  Picked the kidney meat out and ate it piece by piece.  Ate every little bit of that soup.

3 responses to “How not to make soup. (Don’t try this at home.)

  1. Well, at least ‘The Boy’ enjoyed the soup!!! Not all was wasted. :o) Keep up the inventing…you never know what might mix up and be just the next best thing in all the Farmer’s Markets.

  2. =)

  3. Brenda Francis

    Loved telling the kidney soup story to my friends…they have had you on such a pedestal.

Leave a Reply

