Passionate Homemaking’s Soaked Whole Grain Bread. (The one.)

Okay, I’ve got another bread recipe.  I think this is THE ONE.  (I always say that, but I think it’s for real this time.)  It’s from Lindsay’s Passionate Homemaking blog.  And, can I say how impressed I’ve been with Lindsay? She is this young mom that just seems to have it all together!  I’ve read her blog for about a year now, and this 40-something has gleaned a wealth of information and recipes from that 20-something!  (at least she looks 20-something–not sure of her age!)  Everything from coconut oil uses to homemade cleaning products and many, many recipes, her blog has it all.

This bread is soaked overnight, preferably for 24 hours since it uses oatmeal, making it NT-friendly and ultra-nourishing! I love using oatmeal in bread, since we eat very little oatmeal for breakfast, and I know it’s so good for us.  I substitute a little molasses for some of the honey because I like molasses and because of its beneficial nutrients.  I don’t add all the seeds that she does because I don’t happen to have them, but I would if I did :). Also, I made it today without any dough enhancer, and it turned out fine!  You can see her recipe here.  I am going to write my version of it here, but if you want all the details of how to do it, please visit her site.  (But please visit her blog anyway; it’s pretty incredible.)  I split Lindsay’s recipe in half, by the way, since that’s all my KitchenAid will hold.

Soaked Whole Grain Bread

Mix well together in bowl:

  • 5 1/2 c. fresh ground whole wheat flour (I use hard red)
  • 1/2 c. kefir
  • 1 1/2 c. warm water
  • 1 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. honey (I don’t fill it full, then add molasses to the top, maybe 1-2 Tbls.)
  • 6 Tbls. butter or coconut oil, melted

Cover and let sit on counter 12-24 hours.  Then get your yeast going by mixing together the following and let sit for 5 minutes til bubbly:

  • 1/4 c. warm water
  • 1/2 tsp. honey
  • 1 Tbls + 1/4 3/4 tsp. yeast [later realized I had divided wrong, but it worked anyway!]

Add the mixture to the dough, and add:

  • 2 1/4 tsp. sea salt

Mix all this together and knead as normal.  You will probably need to use some more flour–between 1/2 and 3/4 cup–but don’t add any more than it takes to make the dough clean the bowl.  Let rise till double, punch down, let rise again, punch down and put in pans.  Rise once more, then bake at 350 for 30-45 minutes.

Yes, I know I didn’t add much detail on the process.  It’s a trick to get you over to Lindsay’s!

Until I can get my sourdough bread to come out right, this is the bread I will be making.

One response to “Passionate Homemaking’s Soaked Whole Grain Bread. (The one.)

  1. Looks really good!

Leave a Reply

