Killing my wolf. (How to cook beans.)

One of my favorite things to eat for dinner is bean tostadas.  A super frugal meal, and sure to scare away the wolf at the door.  Take a corn tostada shell (store-bought are cheap and of course easy, or you can make your own), spread with refried beans, smear with sour cream (or home-made kefir sour cream), top with whatever you like–tomatoes or fresh salsa, shredded cheese and homemade hot sauce is how we do them.

This is how I cook my pinto beans.  I follow Sally Fallon’s recipe for basic beans in her “Nourishing Traditions” book, which is basically the way I had made them previously, with a couple small exceptions.  I take a 2 pound bag of pintos, pick through them for rocks, etc., rinse them good and put them in a large bowl, covered with WARM water.  Black beans require a little whey also. Let them soak for 12-24 hours (I usually try for the 24), drain off the water, put the beans in my large crockpot covered with water, and cook on low for about 12 hours or until tender.  DON’T SALT THE WATER until they’re done, or you risk having tough beans that won’t ever get tender! Trust me on this.

When they’re done, I season with sea salt, turn the heat off and let sit until cool enough to fill several zip bags and pop in the freezer (lay them flat until frozen, then they can store upright-takes less space).  I always put some of the bean liquid in the bag with the beans, since I use these mostly for refried beans which require some liquid.

Let me tell you, homemade refried beans are a cinch to prepare and you will never go back to canned!  Thaw your beans. Melt a good amount of bacon grease in a skillet (I’m going to try beef tallow next time), put in the beans and mash with a potato masher or large spoon until they look right (I personally don’t mind some whole beans in there, but you can certainly mash your little heart out here).  That’s all I usually do, other than some S & P.  Maybe I’m a purist, but I don’t think they need anything else. Tostadas made with these beans are make-you-shout-halleluia good.

And if you didn’t understand the reference to the wolf, you need to read     M.F.K. Fisher’s book called “How to Cook a Wolf.”

2 responses to “Killing my wolf. (How to cook beans.)

  1. Mandi (Niece) :)

    Ohhhhhhhh!!!!!! I want some! Yummy 🙂

  2. I am definitely trying these! I have never cooked them in the crockpot.

Leave a Reply

